IIT JEE Entrance Exam Analysis


The Indian Institutes of Technology Joint Entrance Examination (IIT-JEE) was an annual engineering college entrance examination in India. It was used as the sole admission test by the Indian Institutes of Technology.

The first IIT, IIT Kharagpur, started in 1951. In the initial few years (1951-1954) students were admitted on the basis of their academic results followed by an Interview in several Centers across the country. From 1955-1959 admission was via an all India examination held only for IIT Kharagpur (other IITs had not started by then). Branches were allotted through Interviews/counseling held at Kharagpur.

Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) is an all India common engineering entrance examination which is conducted for admission in various engineering colleges and courses all over the country.

In 2012, CBSE (Central Board of Secondary Education) announced this common examination that replaced the AIEEE and IIT-JEE. JEE is conducted in two parts, JEE Mains and JEE Advanced. JEE-Advanced is for admission to Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT), and Indian School of Mines Dhanbad, an institute that will be converted to IIT, while the JEE-Main exam is for admission to Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIIT), National Institutes of Technology (NIT), centrally funded technical institutes (CFTI) as well as for admission to the dual degree programme of IIEST Shibpur.

There are some institutes like the Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISER), Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology, and the Indian Institute of Science which uses the score obtained in JEE Advanced as the basis for admission. These are not participating institutes of central IIT JEE-Advanced counselling of which all IITs and ISM are members. Any student who takes admission to IITs or ISM cannot appear for JEE-Advanced exam the next year, but the same is not the case with IIS, IISER, RGIPT and other institutes as these institutes only use JEE Advanced score for admission.

In September 2013, the IIT Council approved the decision of the Joint Admission Board to continue with the two-phase JEE pattern ("Main" followed by "Advanced") for IITs and ISM in 2014.

Joint Seat Allocation Authority 2015 (JSAA 2015) conducted the joint admission process for a total of 18 IITs, ISM Dhanbad, 32 NITs, 18 IIITs and 19 other Government Funded Technical Institutes.

JEE-Main Exam has two papers, Paper-1 and Paper-2. Candidates may opt for either or both of them. Both papers contain multiple choice questions.

Students who qualify JEE-Mains can appear for JEE-Advanced examination.


IIT Bombay, IIT Delhi, IIT Guwahati, IIT Kanpur, IIT Kharagpur,IIT Madras, IIT Roorkee.

Eligibility Criteria

In order to be eligible for the main examination, candidates in the general category had to secure a minimum of 60% aggregated marks in (PCM) Physics, chemistry, Math. the qualifying examination of the 12th standard organized by various educational boards of India, while candidates belonging to Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST) and Physically Disabled (PD) categories must secure a minimum of 55%.

A candidate can attempt JEE (Advanced) a maximum of two times in consecutive years.

The percentages of various categories are: 27% for OBC-NCL, 15% for SC, 7.5% for ST and the remaining 50.5% is OPEN for all. Within each of these four categories, 3% horizontal reservation is available for PwD (including Dyslexic) candidates.

Analysis of IIT JEE MAINS- 2017

Cutoff marks of IIT JEE MAINS- 2017:-



Category Cut-off Marks 
General 81
Scheduled Caste 32
Scheduled Tribe 27
PWD 01